Back and blossoming!

I have been without the Internet for a few weeks so here I am finally catching up and being able to post something again! I have escaped to Copa of Cheltenham, cappuccino in hand and Etta James (God rest her) singing away in the background.

Life is bliss. I love moments like this where everything just seems so simple, life feels free and the possibilities are endless!

I paid a visit to Gloucester hospital today, to see my consultant again about my next moves in regards to a disease called Endometriosis. I won’t go into explaining about it here, but please visit www.endometriosis-uk.org if you wish to know more.

Anyway, so for the last 10 years or so I have been suffering with some pretty horrid pains and side effects of this disease. It has mentally and physically exhausted me, the hormones turning me into a person I dislike to be. Yet today I am smiling, because I spoke to my surgeons consultant and he advised me that they had done everything they can do, there is nothing more they can try to help treat me and he seemed pretty hopeless. He looked at me as if I was hopeless! Well this is where he is wrong.

I was relieved. No more surgery? No problem! No more wondering what other drug I am going to be used as a guinea pig for…fantastic!! This is a joyous day to me. As I know now, the full control of my healing is up to me. I have tried these treatments, and they didn’t work. But each treatment that hasn’t worked is one step closer to something that will!

I walked out of his office with a smile on my face. The situation is not hopeless. It never is. The situation may be painful, mentally and physically. It may feel like you have a mountain of troubles ahead. But it is never hopeless, as long as you believe it isn’t.

Hope is wonderful. It is not being in “denial” of a present situation, as long as you accept it for what it is.Just choosing to see the brighter side of it. It is feeling the fear and doing it anyway! It is faith and trust in this present moment to make the future easier to deal with.

I am not sticking my head in the sand, I am aware this could be a very rocky road ahead. But I know it will be OK. I have the power to eat well, stay fit and healthy and assist in my healing. That is my power and I am going to indulge in loving my body and appreciating every day.

If anyone ever tells you a situation is hopeless, hold faith, smile and tell them it is OK to be fearful of the future as long as you don’t forget to live today, just be grateful for the now. Tomorrow may bring sorrow, hard times and pain, but don’t waste time worrying about it today.

I’d love to write a lot more, but I am running out of battery and the waiter here is starting to think I am part of the furniture!

I’ll leave you with an inspiring video I watched sometime ago. This gentleman is my hero. Remember to get back up when things knock you down.




Much love to all….


If anyone has Endometriosis and wants to talk about it, please do not hesitate to contact me. Hannygabriel@hotmail.com.


Gabe x

Leave a Reply

