Can you choose your own path?

“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.” 
– Apple Inc

The above quote was brought to my attention through TheDailyLove, a post from Mastin Kipp. And I am happy to admit, I am a crazy one! I believe I can change the world. Not with superhero strength, amazing comic book powers, but with LOVE! Haha. I know what you are thinking, how the hickety whoo can Love change the world? Well, that is why I am here, to tell you how I believe it can, bit by bit…starting with this.

I am sure you have all heard about Steve Jobs? Even if you weren’t aware of him prior to his death in October 2011, I am sure you have some knowledge of him now.

He has been one of the most influential souls of our time. Without him Apple, PixarDisney amongst other big name organisations wouldn’t be where they are today.

Now at first, I believed this amazing chap would just be some brilliant technical genius. Which he was! There is no doubt about that. But something a lot of people over looked, was what kept his faith alive to drive him to create and invent some of this incredible technology we use everyday. He dropped out of college in the 70’s to travel India. For 7 months he spent time in an Ashram, met many influential characters and intending to find spiritual enlightenment.

He explored outside of his comfort zone, he became that “crazy” person who went on a journey in search of a meaning to his life and his existence. He chose to follow Zen Buddhism after his experiences in India, shaved his head and adorned traditional Indian clothing. He was sometimes known to walk around his office barefoot in his casual blue jeans, and once admitted those around him didn’t understand his way of thinking.
I am sure he was judged for being a rebellious young drop out, and choosing to follow his own path. But I am glad he didn’t listen. By choosing to follow his own path, he chose Love. He chose to Love his own beliefs, regardless of what was expected of him. He allowed the creativity to flow into his life, to give back to this beautiful world. His soul gave this world the means to connect with each other, in so many ways! He helped us, as a race to evolve.

I am not going to pretend I knew anything about him prior to his passing. I had no idea who he was! But in his passing, he was brought to my attention, and he has influenced me to follow my own path, to chose the journey for me.
Zen is believed to mean “absorption”. The way I translate this is “learning”. Life is about learning, and I wish to absorb all I can to make my life and those around me better, full of love and adventure.
I do not class myself as religious, even though on paper I was born into the Christian faith, I do not practise Christianity, or any 1 faith to be honest. I choose to abide by my own laws, and to be educated by all faiths. I have always been strong minded, and very much an individual. I dislike being told what to do, but I love to be offered advise on what I could choose to do! To have the choice is a blessing, and I am grateful I live somewhere that accepts that.
By having your own path, is how you learn. I have been judged by many, most closest to me, as turning into a bit of a new age hippy! Haha. But that is OK. As much as they have laughed at my ideas, they have also learnt from them. Like the above quote states, you cannot ignore the crazy ones!
I am happy to say I personally know many crazy people, and they are just as influential as Steve Jobs was and still is now! In fact without a certain few of these people, I wouldn’t be here now sharing these ideas with the world. They compelled me to be who I am and to not live my future by looking through goggles distorted with the past!
Thank you, you know who you are. ❤
“Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything – all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure – these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.”
– Steve Jobs, Stanford commencement speech 2005

Much love, always.
Gabe xx
P.S Listen to the words, and find your own path by singing your own song….
Leave a Reply

